A Walk in Montmartre and La Bicyclette

Our last day in Paris we wanted to spend as immersed as possible, avoiding the crowded areas and admiring the charm of the quaint Montmartre neighborhood.

There were so many pictures we took on this day that I considered painting, but these two captured it best for me.

A Walk in Montmartre.

A Walk in Montmarte
Acrylic on wood panel

I chose this picture because it really captures everything from this part of town. This was a bustling street with the infamous Cafe Montmartre and Sacré-Coeur in the background. I’ve exhibited this series in a few shows and this one seems to capture people the most because it’s so recognizable. I love to hear patrons excitedly share their memories of going to this cafe or walking this street from their own trip to Paris, like we shared the same happy memory.

La Bicyclette.

La Bicyclette
Acrylic on Wood Panel

We winded around the neighborhood wherever the sidewalks led us. I took a photo of this bike on a quiet, desolate street. It was quintessential French to me. All of the buildings had similar coloring of cream, beige and gray, and all slightly worn. I appreciated the wear and tear that showed through. The signs of aging gave it character and reminded me of the history it all held. The doors are where their personalities popped, rich with color and adorned with character. I have so many pictures just of doorways, it could be an entire other series!

When I started this series (before I realized it would even become a series) it really began as a way to challenge myself. I was still getting reacquainted with painting, but started to dislike it again. I liked the level of detail I could obtain in a sketch but I didn’t feel like I was able to capture the same in my paintings. So I intentionally changed direction with this series to paint the way I draw – just to see if I could. These were the last two I painted in the series and they were the most challenging. I spent a lot of time sketching these to get the perspective and lines just right. Altho I spent a lot of time on the details in the Eiffel Tower, these were still more time consuming.

It’s hard to say which of the series are my favorite, I like each of them for different reasons. But I think these two hold a top spot for me, if only because I know I grew as an artist as a result and achieved that challenge I had set for myself.

Check out the other pieces in this series, Dream a Little Dream, The Eiffel Tower and Cafe Avec Luxe Chat

Leave a comment